History of Merl
Enjoy our wine and history
Immerse yourself into the history of Merl on a walking tour trough the village along the trails of te knights Von Zandt, guided by Silvia Steffens-Durm, the former wine queen of Zell and princess of the region Mosel-Saar-Ruwer. Or learn more about the vineyards of Merl and enjoy the wine growing area on a guided tour along the educational trail "Merler Pissamann".
A certain Herolf donates a vineyard and a field in Merl to the monastery Lorsch.
Foundation of a Minoriten-monastery and a Latin school in Merl. The monastic church of the former Minoriten-monastery, which is still used today, is renowned for its carved altar from Antwerpen, dating back to 1525, and the oldest roof timbering in Germany from the year 1290. The old church tower is about 600 m away from the altar and because of this Merl has the longest church of the world.
Incorporation of Merl into the city of Zell, but Merl remained a calm, leisurely winegrowers´ village. Since then, all wines of Merl could have been sold by the name of the famous large slope of “Zeller black cat”. Most winegrowers however tend to label their bottled wines after the Merler single slope. The label Zeller Black Cat is mostly used for the bulk wine market.
Since 1952 the winefestival has taken place on the 2nd weekend in August. In 2003, the “Merler Weinfreunde e.V." organised its first winecelebration with a educational history tour trough the village (www.merlerweinfreunde.de). For guided tours or winetastings throughout the year get in contact with Silvia Steffens-Durm.
Opening of the educational wine trail "Merler Pissamann” by “Merler Weinfreunde e.V.”
Tasting and wine selling
Daily from 2 pm to 8 pm
and after agreement
Phone +49 (0) 6542 2402, firstname.lastname@example.org
Enjoy your wine in our pavilion from May till mid-June
and from mid-August till the end of October.